It is not new to us that The Philippines is an archipelago that composes of three main geographical divisions namely Luzon, Visayaz and Mindanao. It was taught to us in elementary that we do have 7,107 islands. 

PH no longer 7,107 islands after discovery of 400 more
One of the islands of the Philippine Archipelago. Photo by

But hey, our HEKASI and history books may change due to several series mapping research being done by National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA). 

It was announced on February 10 by Environment Secretary Ramon J.P. Paje there are indeed newly discovered 400 more islets that are situated mostly in Mindanao.

“Hindi lang tayo 7,101 islands, 7,500 islands na tayo,” Paje told summit participants as he reported the state of the Philippine environment.

Jose Cabanayan Jr., second-in-command administrator of NAMRIA, said that to be considered an island, the large body of its land should be above sea altitude and high tide at any given time, and can sustain either plant or animal life, or both.

“Kailangan nakalutang ang lupa at above high tide,” he said.

Cabanayan declared that NAMRIA has completed ground validation in Luzon and is currently working in Visayas.

Ground validation is set to be completed by the end of 2016, including in Mindanao, Cabanayan disclosed.

Of the 7,107 islands in the Philippines, only about 2,000 islands are occupied by mankind and 5,000 islands still have no names.

Source: Manila Bulletin

Love this article? Sharing is caring!

PH no longer 7,107 islands after discovery of 400 more PH no longer 7,107 islands after discovery of 400 more Reviewed by Kristian S. on 13 February Rating: 5

No comments:

Share your thoughts here...

Powered by Blogger.